2021 winner announcement

iBiology and our partners the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation and the Rita Allen Foundation are proud to announce the eight winners of the 2021 Share Your Research competition! These highly qualified candidates hail from institutions across the U.S. and halfway around the world. The winners will attend a virtual science communication workshop led by iBiology in May 2021 and will record their research talks for publication in our Share Your Research video series.

We look forward to working with these talented early career scientists and sharing their research with our global audience later this year.

Christina Cho

Dr. Christina Cho is a postdoctoral researcher at Yale University studying the ways tumors hide from the immune system and resist immunotherapy.

Mai Howard

Dr. Mia Howard is a postdoctoral researcher at Indiana University studying how soil microbes affect the ability of plants to defend themselves against herbivores.

Maiko Kitaoka

Maiko Kitaoka is a PhD candidate at the University of California, Berkeley investigating molecular conflicts that arise in cell division to understand how evolution ensures that species remain distinct.

Julia Nepper

Dr. Julia Nepper is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she studies the interactions of soil bacteria.

Karena Nguyen

Dr. Karena H. Nguyen is a postdoctoral fellow at Emory University, investigating how climate change and agricultural expansion impact parasite transmission and human health risk.

Takahiro Ohara

Takahiro Ohara is an MD/PhD student at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, studying how intestinal villi recover after injury.

Brandon A. Yates

Brandon A. Yates is a PhD student at Indiana University School of Medicine where he studies interactions between musculoskeletal and cognitive health in older adults.

Edriss Yousuf

Edriss Yousuf is a PhD candidate at inStem, Bangalore, India, studying how natural cyclic changes occur in skin fat cells.

The Share Your Research competition is generously funded by the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation and the Rita Allen Foundation.

Reader Interactions


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *